Welcome to the Islands!

Hi and welcome to our blog!

We are two sisters born to two different countries. Growing up was a mash up of cultures, traditions and styles.

I, Latoya the eldest was born Guyana and my younger sister Trudy was born in Trinidad and Tobago, where we both grew up. Even thought we have many differences, our passion for fashion, outdoor activities, CRICKET, DIY’S and makeup just brings us together.

We are both mothers and are very, very family oriented. We will describe ourselves as fun, outgoing, creative (you have to be) and silly girls living in a tropical paradise.

I’ve always been a writer, for as long as I can remember (hence most of the writing will be done by me…lol). Writing has been an outlet for my thoughts, an escape for me, a way to vent; get it off my chest so to speak. Whether it is poetry, short stories or my journal, writing is in me.

Writing is my voice. For far too long, I’ve not had a voice in many things. I choose to remain silent; silent out of fear of others, to conform, to belong.

But I’m older now; I am learning the value of my voice. Not being afraid to speak my truth. I want to have a say- in my work, at home, as a friend, a partner, a sister- in my world.

On the other hand my sister has always been loud, fun and outgoing, she will make you stop and listen to her point of view (she is always RIGHT in her opinion). She has a deep passion for cricket (biggest West Indies fan), loves makeup and outdoor activities.

Blogging now is just our way to share our words, our voice and of course, pictures with you! If it brings a smile to your face or help in any way or simply entertain you, then all the better!

We want to hear from you, so feel free to leave your comment and opinions. We are never too old to learn something new and life is better when you share!

So go on….have a voice!

Gt Girlz

Leave a Reply

